Jimingyi Village is also called Jiming Mountain Post Station. Situated 150 km from Beijing, the post station was initially built in the Yuan Dynasty and by 1420 had become the largest post station in the north capital area. Due to its unique strategic location, the post station itself is an independent town.
Clay walls were built around the village in 1472, and in 1570, the walls were reinforced with bricks. The whole post station is square in shape. The walls are as tall as 12 metres and apart from a collapsed section in the middle of the west wall, the other parts of the walls still stand today. Above the east and west gates there are gates with Chinese inscriptions which are translated to read “Jiming Mountain Station” (鸡鸣山驿) and “As Vigorous as the Big Dipper” (气冲斗牛). In 1738, the walls were renovated and a moat was built to the east of the town. Jiming Post Station remained in operation until the Northern Warlords Government began to shut down ancient post stations and set up a modern post office in 1913.